About Us Blog Books Games Movies Music Photos Trips

Kerry's Trips in 2009 (11 total)

Below are summaries of all trips in 2009.

Thanksgiving in Kentucky
Tuesday, November 24, 2009 -
Saturday, November 28, 2009
Lexington, KY

We spent several days at Thanksgiving with Gabe's family. While we were there, we also had a birthday party for Dylan.
Vacationing with Friends
Saturday, November 21, 2009 -
Tuesday, November 24, 2009
Fancy Gap, VA

Originally, we had planned to go to DC or the mountains. Our plans to travel to DC didn't work out as we had hoped, but we were excited to be one of the first visitors to our friends' brand new mountain home. We visited with them on the way to the mountains (with a day on the way back as well). It's very conveniently on our route to Kentucky.
New England/Canada Cruise
Friday, September 18, 2009 -
Saturday, September 26, 2009
New England and Canada

We went on this cruise with my parents, sister, and brother-in-law. Gabe and I had never been to Maine or the two Canadian provinces. This was also Maddie's first visit to Massachusetts, Maine, and Canada. We had a wonderful time on this vacation with extended family!
Visiting Family in Atlanta
Friday, September 4, 2009 -
Monday, September 7, 2009
Atlanta, GA

We went down to Atlanta to visit with my grandparents and other relatives. My parents were in town at the same time.
Ben & Kristina's Wedding
Friday, July 31, 2009 -
Sunday, August 2, 2009
Davidson, NC & Asheville

We visited with my parents in Davidson and attended Ben and Kristina's wedding in Asheville. Maddie had a great afternoon and evening with her grandparents while we went to the wedding. The wedding was beautiful at the Biltmore Estate. See the blog post for more details.
July 4th Weekend in Davidson
Friday, July 3, 2009 -
Sunday, July 5, 2009
Davidson, NC

We had originally planned to spend the weekend in Athens, but my cousin ended up with whooping cough so we stayed away. We still went to visit my parents for a couple days and attended the Davidson festivities. We had a nice weekend and were able to play some Tichu!

More information in the blog post: July 4th in Davidson: trip report & photos

Father's Day in Cincinnati
Friday, June 19, 2009 -
Monday, June 22, 2009
Cincinnati, OH

We went to Cincinnati for a long weekend where we visited with family and saw a Reds baseball game. The trip was great!
Visiting Family in Davidson
Saturday, June 6, 2009 -
Sunday, June 7, 2009
Davidson, NC

We went to Davidson to visit with my parents and my mom's cousin Bill and his wife Dawn. This was the first time that Maddie was able to meet Bill and Dawn. See the blog post for more details.
Bermuda Cruise
Friday, May 15, 2009 -
Thursday, May 21, 2009
Norfolk, VA and Bermuda

Gabe and I had been talking about taking a trip with just the 3 of us for a while. We finally felt ready to try it. We decided to take a 5-day cruise to Bermuda! We had a great time (though cruising with a 1-year-old has its challenges!).
Opening Weekend at Keeneland
Thursday, April 2, 2009 -
Sunday, April 5, 2009
Lexington, KY

We went to Kentucky to see the races on opening day at Keeneland. Maddie seemed to enjoy her first horse races. Melissa and Jason came to visit with us. See the blog post for more details.
Family and ASYO in Atlanta
Friday, March 13, 2009 -
Monday, March 16, 2009
Atlanta, GA and Davison, NC

We went to Atlanta to visit family and to see my cousin John Thomas perform as part of the Georgia Youth Symphony Orchestra. We also celebrated Grandma and Grandpa's birthdays. See the blog post for more details.